Tags

, , , ,

Oh man, life has been busy! So busy, in fact, that I have been struggling with having enough time in the morning during the week. All my friends know that I LOVE breakfast. It’s my favorite meal of the day and let’s just say you don’t really want to be around me if I haven’t had my morning pick me up. Trust me, it’s not good.

CAM00103CAM00101

We went and got a dog. A DOG. I have been a cat person all my life, but my husband and I decided to take the plunge a couple months ago. Duke (AKA the cutest dog ever…but I might be a little biased) is a Whippet/German Shepherd mix and if you know what a Whippet is, you know that they’re super docile, but they have a lot of energy to kill. Hence the hour walk every morning and evening, plus potty break walks. Whew!

IMG_20140816_132249

Needless to say, I’m in desperate need of an easy, quick, and tasty breakfast. This granola is the solution I’ve been looking for! I love it over some Greek yogurt and fresh fruit. The best part is, not only is it quick and easy, but there is no processed sugar, no preservatives, fillers or other yucky stuff you might find in store bought granola. With heart-healthy flax seeds and nuts, fiber-filled oats, and a little sweetness, this one’s sure to be a champion of weekday breakfasts!!

Dry Ingredients:

4 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup macadamia nuts, roughly chopped
1/2 cup pecans, roughly chopped
1 cup shredded coconut
2 T. ground flax seeds
1 T. ground ginger
1/2 cup dried date pieces, roughly chopped
pinch of salt

Wet Ingredients:

1/4 cup coconut oil (I used Nature’s Way Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil)
1/4 cup honey
1 1/2 t. vanilla

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Roughly chop the macadamias and pecans.IMG_20140816_125559

3. In a large mixing bowl, combine all dry ingredients together, except the dried dates. In a separate, small mixing bowl, combine wet ingredients.

IMG_20140816_125917CAM00093

4. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix well to combine.

CAM00094 (2)

5. Pour out onto an ungreased cookie sheet and bake for about 30 minutes, stirring a couple times during the cooking so all the granola gets toasted. Let cool and add in the date pieces. Enjoy over yogurt, with milk, or as is for a delicious snack! I keep mine in a mason jar, but any air-tight container will work!

CAM00095 (2)Happy Eating!

